ElderCare Online    The ElderCare Forum    The ElderCare Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  About Our Community    Serious virus warning
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Senior Member
Picture of Bobcat
Posted
Sent through e-mail, Marked as "mail server report". DO NOT OPEN.. read the following. this is verified by Snopes.


MAJOR VIRUS WARNING


Check with Snopes.com at the end. It is real.


Anyone-using Internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on.

This information arrived this morning, Direct from both Microsoft and
Norton.
Please send it to everybody you know who has access t o the Internet.

You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled "Mail Server Report"

If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen saying:
'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.'

Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC, And the person who
sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon.
AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus software's
are not capable of destroying it.

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself 'life owner'.

PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, And ask them to
PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!

THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY SNOPES



http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/mailserver.asp


* the crystal ball (*) is in the shop>>>>
 
Posts: 2908 | Location: mid Atlantic | Registered: January 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Senior Member
Posted Hide Post
Regardless, it is excellent advice to never, ever open an attachment on an e-mail unless you know for absolute certain what it is and from whom you are receiving it.

For example, an e-mail from my mother's e-mail account that says, "Attached is a photograph of cousin Mike's new baby" is probably safe. One from "microsoft" any other business) asking you to install an attachment is not safe, and probably fraudulent.
 
Posts: 490 | Registered: May 22, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Senior Member
Picture of Moms_Buddy
Posted Hide Post
This was a confusing one because the original "mailserver report" was real, then the "life is beautiful hoax, now a newer version that seems to combine the two is real again...

Someone needs to CATCH buttheads who send this stuff and make them pick up trash along the interstate for 6 months or so from 5am-5pm...
THEN make them FIX all the computers they have messed up for another several years in between mucking out dairy barns... Mad




"She ain't heavy; she's my mother."
 
Posts: 3056 | Location: SE LA | Registered: August 12, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Senior Member
Picture of Bobcat
Posted Hide Post
DOCHKA, I also love Urban Legends/Snopes. You link is from 2002. You will notice that this Snopes link says it is erroneously linked to the Life is Beautiful that you mention, but that this virus is real. When I go to Urban Legends, it is tied into Snopes. I just hope no one gets burned. This link is current.


* the crystal ball (*) is in the shop>>>>
 
Posts: 2908 | Location: mid Atlantic | Registered: January 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Senior Member
Picture of DOCHKA
Posted Hide Post
Hoax!!!

http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/bl_life_is_beautiful.htm

I love this Urban Legends site for all kinds of crazy emails that circulate!
 
Posts: 923 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: February 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

ElderCare Online    The ElderCare Forum    The ElderCare Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  About Our Community    Serious virus warning

(c) 1997-2008 Prism Innovations, Inc. All Rights Reserved